Thanks to those of you who participated in our PEAKS meeting last night.  We hope that it was beneficial to those of you who attended.  It was a large group, and we sure appreciated having you all there.  Remember that you receive a $150 stipend for attending 3 of the 5 PEAKS new teacher meetings.  Our next meetings are on March 14 & May 22.  

If you weren't able to attend the meetings, check out the new page called PD Materials.  You can download the handouts and the powerpoint from the meeting.  

We'd like to dedicate some time in our March meeting to technology.  If you have specific technology questions that you think might benefit the group, please send them our way.  Ideas that were brainstormed at last nights meeting are:
How to email parents using skyward
Using an iPad in the classroom
Taking advantage of Pioneer Library & UTIPS

I'm sending treats to the first 10 readers who comment on our blog, so comment away!

Thanks,
The PEAKS Team
Miranda Brunson
1/27/2012 04:34:44 am

I would like to know if there are any really cool iPad apps for the students to use. Have any teachers found some great ones?

Reply
Hillary Steab
1/27/2012 06:30:06 am

There is a great list put out by Sallie Warnicki (who is a fabulous resource if you have additional questions) on: http://eastmidvaleipads.blogspot.com/
I use mine frequently and my kids love it!

Reply
Ashley Fricker
1/27/2012 04:45:25 am

Hi guys! Does anyone know how to publish a podcast from the iPods or iPads?

Reply
Brittany Cates
1/27/2012 04:51:55 am

I need some insight as to what kinds of projects/interactive learning can be done using an iPad. I would like to write a grant to get one for my classroom but I'm not sure how they would be useful in the classroom, since I've never had one before.

Reply
Patty Chung
1/27/2012 04:57:19 am

I found some apps for Immersion program but somehow they are not that related to what I am teaching. And now I want to find something for my Envision Math but a lot of them are in English. Is there a way I can find in my Language?? In immersion classroom, there is no English allowed.

Reply
Jennifer Egbert
1/27/2012 05:33:44 am

I just wanted to say thank you so much for the meetings that you put together. I always learn so much from them, and you guys are great teachers. For the next meeting, I would really like to see some fun educational apps for an iPad that I could use with my students. I just bought one, and am excited to learn how to best use it in my classroom.

Reply
Jethro
1/27/2012 05:49:10 am

Thanks! Now I can find out what is going on with our new teachers.

Reply
Leslie Allen
1/27/2012 06:09:03 am

Nice try Jones, but NO TREAT FOR YOU!!! Just teasing, we will happily send a treat your way as one of our favorite former EBL buddies!

Reply
1/27/2012 05:59:15 am

Thanks PEAKS team! I watched my movements around my classroom today and even though I do not have "tough kids" in that particular class it helped those who do not normally participate.

Reply
Jennifer Jorgensen
1/27/2012 09:01:14 am

I thought last night was great! Management is HUGE! It effects how much your students learn

Reply
Robyn Dulco
2/14/2012 08:46:27 am

I would have to agree with Sally, the information from the Tough Kids Handbook was super helpful! I too am tracking where I stand in the classroom and checking to see if all students are engaged. Thanks!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.